The BOMA California Board of Directors gathered this week in San Diego, bringing together members from each of the eight local associations and industry leaders from some of California’s most respected real estate companies.

BOMA California is a federation of all eight metropolitan BOMA local associations and serves as the collective membership’s legislative and regulatory advocate.

The mission of BOMA California is to preserve and promote the interests of California commercial real estate professionals through legislative and regulatory advocacy.

Issues facing the industry in the next year include advocates going after Proposition 13 and increasing property taxes, ADA reform, a new set of energy regulations, CEQA reform, changes to the “Call Before You Dig” system, and updates to CalGreen.

Among the actions taken by the Board, was approval to participate in an industrywide effort to hire an expert to review the new Energy Code proposed earlier this week.  Issues related to statewide energy mandates have become one of the largest sources for expense increases in tenant improvements.  We hope that engaging early with the next code will allow us to identify and fix proposals that are not cost effective before they are adopted. See below for more detail.

BOMA California is all about advocacy for the commercial real estate industry, whether before a board of supervisors, the California State Legislature, state agencies like the State Fire Marshal’s office or the Public Utilities Commission, or the U.S. Congress, we are focused on serving the industry interests.

The BOMA California Board welcomed the following officers:

President: Deanna Drake-Copelan, CBRE (BOMA Oakland/East Bay)

Vice President: Dave Mastro, DTZ (BOMA Sacramento)

Secretary:  Mike Hansen, CBRE (BOMA San Diego)

Treasurer:  David Foley, Brookfield Properties (BOMA Greater Los Angeles)

Immediate Past President: Brian Harnetiaux, McCarthy Cook (BOMA Orange County)

Executive Committee: Desiree Lavin Glover, Tiarna Real Estate Services (BOMA Inland Empire)

Executive Committee: Sandra Boyle, Cushman Wakefield (BOMA San Francisco) 

Executive Committee:  Sarahann Shapiro, Pahl & McCay (BOMA Silicon Valley)

Immediate Past President Brian Harnetiaux was honored for his service to the industry with a legislative “Resolution” written by Assemblymember Tom Daly (D-Anaheim).

Thank you to everyone who serves the industry through volunteering time, expertise, and funding support, at every level of BOMA.  Thank you to those companies who share these valuable resources and assure they have the time to engage.

© 2007-2012 Building Owners and Managers Association of California (BOMA Cal)